Diagnostic Imaging Practice Standards

The Diagnostic Imaging Practice Standards provide a consistent statement on the level of care consumers can expect from diagnostic imaging practices. The standards aim to protect the public from harm and improve the quality of imaging delivered.

Diagnostic Imaging Practice Standards

There are 15 standards grouped into four parts. Each standard outlines the evidence required to fulfil the standard.

Diagnostic imaging practices previously accredited are accredited against all 15 standards. New imaging practices can choose to be assessed against the 15 standards or the 3 entry standards (Standard 1.2, 1.3 and 1.4).

Part 1: Organisational Standards

Part 2: Pre-Procedure Standards

Part 3: Procedure Standards

Part 4: Post Procedure Standards


Publication, report or update

Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme. User Guide for Diagnostic Imaging Practices Applying for Accreditation (Link will be updated shortly.)


The advisories are currently available on the Australian Department of Health Website.

Advisory Statement A17/01 – Introduction of Adult Diagnostic Reference Levels for Nuclear Medicine

Advisory Statement A17/02 – Light Based Disinfection Systems for Use with Ultrasound Probes

Advisory Statement A18/02 – Nuclear Medicine Imaging Procedures: Consent Requirements for the Administration of Radiopharmaceuticals

Advisory Statement A18/03 – Clarification of Consent Requirements for Transvaginal and Transrectal Ultrasound Procedures

Advisory Statement A18/04 – Introduction of Revised Diagnostic Reference Levels for Computed Tomography

Advisory Statement A18/05 – Clarification of Evidentiary Requirements for Standard 1.5 in Relation to Service Provider Qualifications and Licences

Advisory Statement A18/06 – Requirement for High Level Disinfection of Ultrasound Transducers

Advisory Statement A19/01 – Clarifying the Required Evidence for Standard 3.2, Optimised Radiation Technique Charts

Advisory Statement A19/02 – New Reference for Disinfection Requirements in Standard 1.6, Healthcare Associated Infection

Advisory Statement A20/01 – Introduction of Diagnostic Reference Levels for Image Guides and Interventional Procedures: Coronary Angiograph

Advisory Statement A21/01 – Revised Diagnostic Reference Levels for Selected Computed Tomography Scans

Advisory Statement A21/02 – Application of Standards 2.4 Diagnostic Imaging Practices Performing Imaging Services in Surgical Settings

Contact us

For questions and feedback on the Commission’s National Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme and Practices Standards please contact Safety and Quality Advice Centre or phone 1800 304 056.