Safety and Quality > Our Work > Healthcare Associated Infection > Antimicrobial Resistance Standing Committee

The Antimicrobial Resistance Standing Committee (AMRSC) reports to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC).

Information about the AHPPC

Role of AMRSC

As set out in AMRSC’s terms of reference, the role of the standing committee includes the provision of:

  • Advice to the AHPPC on matters relating to Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR)
  • Expert advice and assistance on issues relating to AMR, and
  • Recommended courses of action on national priorities for AMR.


Membership of AMRSC includes nominations from the following organisations:

  • Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  • Australian Group on Antimicrobial Resistance
  • Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority
  • Australian Society for Antimicrobials
  • Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control
  • Australasian Society for Infectious Disease
  • Communicable Disease Network Australia
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Health
  • National Health and Medical Research Council
  • National Prescribing Service
  • Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee
  • Public Health Laboratory Network
  • Therapeutic Goods Administration
  • Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia



The National Surveillance and Reporting of Antimicrobial Resistance and Antibiotic Usage for Human Health in Australia, June 2013, has been endorsed by the Australian Health Ministers Advisory Council.

Poster presentation to the National Clinicians Network Forum, 12 June 2014: