Safety and Quality > Our Work > Accreditation and the NSQHS Standards

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Commission to drive the implementation of safety and quality systems and improve the quality of health care in Australia. The 10 NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health service organisations.

In September 2011, Health Ministers endorsed the NSQHS Standards and a national accreditation scheme. This has created a national safety and quality accreditation scheme for health service organisations.

Information for health service organisations

Accreditation to the NSQHS Standards commenced for hospitals and day procedure services across Australia from January 2013.

Information for dental practices

The introduction of the NSQHS Standards has implications for dental practices and clinics nationally as they may be participating in accreditation for the first time.

Information for accrediting agencies

Information on the approval process for accrediting agencies.

Resources to implement the NSQHS Standards

Resources, tools and documents have been developed to assist health services using the NSQHS Standards.

Back to top


Last updated: 30 April 2015