Improving systems for recognising and responding to clinical deterioration can be challenging. The comprehensive Guide to Support Implementation of the National Consensus Statement has been designed to help health service providers to identify strategies for successfully implementing robust recognition and response systems. It will also assist facilities to implement the criteria outlined in National Safety and Quality Health Service Standard 9: Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care.  Using the guide and it’s accompanying tools and resources will help organisations to assess current systems, identify any factors that may be contributing to poor performance, and develop solutions to address these factors. A series of Quick-Start Guides has also been developed to enable readers to quickly identify the key messages relating to each essential element in the larger implementation guide.

The Implementation Guide can be downloaded in full, or in separate sections

Who should use the implementation guide?

The information in the guide will support health professionals with responsibility for the development, implementation and ongoing evaluation of recognition and response systems to make the system changes needed to achieve the agreed practice outlined in the Consensus Statement. This may include senior executives, health service managers, clinicians, educators or people with responsibility for policy or quality improvement.  The guide is designed for use both across whole facilities and within individual wards or clinical areas.

How should the implementation guide be used?

The implementation guide gives health professionals information, resources and tools to implement the eight essential elements from the Consensus Statement. Health professionals are encouraged to use a change improvement model appropriate to their facility to provide a structured and systematic process for the implementation of the tasks and actions described in the guide.

The guide is structured according to the eight essential elements in the Consensus Statement. Each chapter of the guide contains information about the:

  • rationale and evidence for the inclusion of the essential element
  • goals of the essential element
  • tasks required to reach each goal
  • evidence or rationale for each task
  • actions required to complete each task.

Follow the three steps within each chapter to help you to identify:

  1. who has responsibilities in achieving the goals of each essential element
  2. if there are gaps in your current systems
  3. how you can use the information in the guide to design and implement your action plan.

The guide also contains three appendices that will help to support implementation. Appendix A (PDF 1.6 MB) relates the actions and tasks included in the implementation guide to National Safety and Quality Health Service Standard 9: Recognising and Responding to Clinical Deterioration in Acute Health Care. Appendix B (PDF 1.7 MB) contains specifications for quality measures that can be used for local evaluation and quality improvement processes. Appendix C contains links to useful web sites, tools and resources and an updated online version is available here.