Skip to main content

National Standards in mental health services

The Commission considers that implementation of the second edition of the NSQHS Standards provides a robust framework for safety and quality in mental health services in public and private hospitals, and community services provided by local health networks.

Second edition of NSQHS Standards

The second edition of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards was released in November 2017. Health service organisations have been assessed to the second edition from January 2019.

NSQHS Standards mental health – resources

The Commission has released two new resources to support implementation of the NSQHS Standards:

The need for a mental health service to demonstrate accreditation  is determined by state and territory regulators. The Council of Australian Governments Health Council agreed in 2017 to a process to revise the NSMHS under the Fifth National Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Plan.

Back to top