Requirements for cytogenetic testing (Third Edition 2013)

This document was published by the National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Council (NPAAC) whilst under the governance of the Department of Health and Aged Care. From 1 July 2021, the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) assumed responsibility for coordinating the National Pathology Accreditation (NPA) Scheme and supporting the development of the pathology accreditation standards.

Requirements for medical pathology services (Third Edition 2018) is currently in use.

The Commission is undergoing a review process for each of the pathology standards. To remain up to date on upcoming consultations and to provide input, please visit the pathology accreditation standards and sign up now for ongoing updates.

For enquiries about the NPA Scheme or the resources, email

The Requirements for Cytogenetic Testing outlines the minimum best practice requirements for pathology laboratories providing cytogenetic services.
This document must be read in conjunction with the Tier 2 document - Requirements for Medical Pathology Services.

An image of the front cover of Tier 4 Requirements for Cytogenetic Testing (Third Edition 2013)


Requirements for cytogenetic testing (Third Edition 2013)

Download PDF (139.98 KB)
Download Word (66.37 KB)

Accessibility - We aim to provide documents in an accessible format. If you're having problems using a document with your accessibility tools, please contact us for help.

Copyright - Unless stated otherwise, materials provided are covered by a Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike (BY-NC-ND) 4.0 International License.


Publication year
Resource type
Publication, report or update