Clinical Directors

Dr Heather Buchan

Dr Heather Buchan

Dr Heather Buchan is a public health physician who has worked in health policy and medical management roles in New Zealand, the United Kingdom and Australia.

Dr Buchan has a longstanding interest in ways to increase the effectiveness and appropriateness of health care, including methods to improve communication between patients and clinicians, and in the implementation of change in health care settings.

She is now a Senior Medical Advisor at the Commission and undertakes work across a number of programs, primarily with the healthcare variation team or related to embedding safety and quality in health practitioner education. She is also Conjoint Associate Professor, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Newcastle.

Professor Anne Duggan

Anne Duggan

Conjoint Professor Anne Duggan is a Clinical Director at the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care and Conjoint Professor, School of Medicine and Public Health, University of Newcastle. Dr Duggan is a highly respected Gastroenterologist with significant operating and leadership experience in a range of healthcare settings.

She is passionate about improving health care services through sharing knowledge and collaborating across all aspects of the health system.

Professor Duggan leads the development of the Australian Atlas of Healthcare Variation series.

Professor John Turnidge AO

John Turnidge

Professor John Turnidge is a Senior Medical Advisor at the Commission, responsible for implementing national surveillance for antimicrobial resistance and usage in human health.

Professor Turnidge completed his training in Infectious Diseases and laboratory Microbiology at the Flinders Medical Centre in Adelaide, South Australia. He subsequently undertook research with William A. Craig, MD, in Madison, WI, on the early stages of development of the science of antimicrobial pharmacodynamics. He spent eight years at Monash Medical Centre in Melbourne before returning to Adelaide as head of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, and then as chief of the Laboratory Medicine division at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital.

For the last three years, Professor Turnidge has been Clinical Director of Microbiology and Infectious Diseases for SA Pathology, while continuing to be based at the Women’s and Children’s.

His research career has led to over 300 publications and a range of editorial boards and leadership positions. He has chaired the Australian Joint Expert Technical Advisory Committee on Antibiotic Resistance and the Expert Advisory Group on Antimicrobial Resistance. He is currently a member of the Subcommittees on Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing and Veterinary Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing of the Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute, and chairs the NHMRC’s Antimicrobial Resistance Advisory Committee. He was President of the Australian Society of Microbiology from 2010 to 2012.

Associate Professor Amanda Walker

Amanda Walker

Associate Professor Amanda Walker is a Specialist in Palliative Medicine in the Southern Highlands of NSW who has led state-wide work in End-of-Life Care and Diagnostic Error at the Clinical Excellence Commission in NSW.

Her work as a Clinical Director at the Commission has primarily focused on the development of Clinical Care Standards, resources to support clinicians and managers addressing Hospital Acquired Complications, and supporting clinicians to provide Comprehensive Care.