Board Members 2020-21

The Commission’s Board governs the organisation and is responsible for the proper and efficient performance of its functions. The Board establishes the Commission’s strategic direction, including directing and approving its strategic plan and monitoring management’s implementation of the plan. The Board also oversees its operations and ensures that appropriate systems and processes are in place so that the Commission operates in a safe, responsible and ethical manner, consistent with its regulatory requirements.

Board membership

The Australian Government Minister for Health appoints the Commission’s Board, in consultation with all state and territory health ministers. The Board includes members who have extensive experience and knowledge in the fields of healthcare administration, provision of health services, law, management, primary health care, corporate governance and improvement of safety and quality.

The Board is established and governed by the provisions of the National Health Reform Act and the PGPA Act.

Professor Villis Marshall AC (Chair)

Professor Villis Marshall

Professor Villis Marshall brings to the Board experience in providing healthcare services, managing public hospitals, and improving safety and quality. Professor Marshall has had significant clinical experience as a urologist, and as Clinical Director (Surgical Specialties Service) for the Royal Adelaide Hospital and Clinical Professor of Surgery at the University of Adelaide.

Professor Marshall was awarded a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2006 for services to medicine, particularly urology and research into kidney disease, to the development of improved healthcare services in the Defence forces, and to the community through distinguished contributions to the development of pre-hospital first aid care provided by St John Ambulance Australia.

His previous appointments include General Manager at Royal Adelaide Hospital, Senior Specialist in Urology and Director of Surgery at Repatriation General Hospital, and Professor and Chair of Surgical and Specialty Services at Flinders Medical Centre.

Qualifications: MD, MBBS, FRACS

Dr David Filby PSM

Dr David Filby has worked extensively across the Australian healthcare landscape in a number of significant policy and executive roles. He has held senior national health policy roles and senior executive positions in Queensland and South Australia. In July 2016, he completed a term of six and a half years as Executive Consultant for South Australia Health and the Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council.

Dr Filby was a board member of the National Health Performance Authority until June 2016, a board member of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare for 14 years and in August 2016 finished a nine-year term, including six as Chair, with Helping Hand Aged Care Inc. He is a member of the board of Pedare School. In 2008, he was awarded a Public Service Medal and in 2007 was awarded the Sidney Sax Medal by the Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association. Previously, he was on the board of South Australia’s Child Health Research Institute Council.

Qualifications: PhD

Ms Christine Gee

Ms Christine Gee brings to the board extensive experience in private hospital administration, having held executive management positions for over 30 years. She has been the CEO of Toowong Private Hospital, a mental health service, since 1997 and is Chair of the Commission’s Private Hospital Sector Committee.

Ms Gee is involved in a number of state and national boards and committees, including the Australian Private Hospitals Association, the Private Hospitals Association of Queensland, the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare and the Queensland Board of the Medical Board of Australia. She is the Chair of the Medical Board of Australia’s National Special Issues Committee and she was the private sector representative on the Safety and Quality Partnership Standing Committee of the Mental Health Principal Committee prior to its cessation in 2021.

Qualifications: MBA

Ms Wendy Harris QC

Ms Wendy Harris QC is a barrister who specialises in commercial law. She was admitted to the Victorian Bar in 1997 and was appointed Senior Counsel in 2010.

Between 2011 and 2015 she was Board Chair of the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia’s only public hospital dedicated to cancer treatment, research and education. Other past directorships include 10 years on the Board of Barristers’ Chambers Limited, which is the repository of the substantial property assets of the Victorian Bar, and provider of chambers accommodation and ancillary services to its members.

Ms Harris is also immediate past President of the Victorian Bar Inc.

Qualifications: LLB (Hons)

Dr Helena Williams

Dr Helena Williams brings to the Board active clinical expertise as a practising general practitioner and leadership experience as a previous Clinical Director of the Southern Adelaide-Fleurieu-Kangaroo Island Medicare Local Ltd. She is also currently the Executive Medical Director, SA/East Coast, for the Silver Chain Group and a HealthPathways GP Clinical Editor in SA.

Dr Williams’ governance experience includes six years as the Presiding Member of the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network Governing Council and past directorships include the Southern Adelaide Health Service, the Cancer Council South Australia, Noarlunga Health Services, the South Australian Divisions of General Practice, and the Australian General Practice Network.

Qualifications: MBBS, FRACGP

Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM

Ms Glenys Beauchamp was Secretary of the Australian Government Department of Health from 18 September 2017 to 28 February 2020. Glenys has had an extensive career in the Australian Public Service at senior levels with responsibility for a number of significant government programs covering economic and social policy areas. She has more than 25 years’ experience in the public sector and began her career as a graduate in the Industry Commission.

PMs Beauchamp was Secretary of the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science (2013–2017) and Secretary of the Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport (2010–2013). She has served as Deputy Secretary in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet (2009–2010) and the Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs (2002–2009).
Ms Beauchamp has held a number of executive positions in the ACT Government including Deputy Chief Executive, Department of Disability, Housing and Community Services and Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Department of Health. She has also held senior positions in housing, energy and utilities functions with the ACT Government.

Glenys was awarded a Public Service Medal in 2010 for coordinating Australian Government support during the 2009 Victorian bushfires.

Ms Beauchamp currently serves on a number of Government and private sector, including not-for profit, boards.

Qualifications: Qualifications: BEcon, MBA

Professor Tony Lawler

Tony is Chief Medical Officer and Deputy Secretary- Clinical Quality, Regulation and Accreditation with the Tasmanian Department of Health, and Professor in Health Services at the University of Tasmania.

Tony is a Specialist Emergency Physician and previous President of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine. He has previously been a Medical Advisor to the Tasmanian Minister for Health, Deputy Head of the Tasmanian School of Medicine, and Tasmanian Branch President of the Australian Medical Association.

He is a member of the Australian Medical Council’s Special Education Accreditation Committee, and a Director of the Postgraduate Medical Education Council of Tasmania.