Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard

Antibiotic resistance poses a significant threat to public health because antibiotics underpin routine clinical practice in a variety of healthcare settings.


Bacteria can develop resistance to specific antibiotics, meaning that the antibiotic is no longer effective against those bacteria. Although antibiotic resistance is a natural feature of bacterial evolution, the inappropriate use of antibiotics has increased the development of antibiotic-resistant bacteria, not only in hospitals and healthcare facilities but also in the community.1,2

To help prevent the development of current and future bacterial resistance, it is important to prescribe antibiotics according to the principles of antimicrobial stewardship, such as prescribing antibiotics only when needed (and not for mild infections such as colds, earache or sore throats).

Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard

This resource provides guidance to clinicians and health service managers on delivering appropriate care when prescribing antibiotics.

Publication, report or update

Indicator specification

This resource provides a set of suggested indicators to assist with local implementation of the Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard. Clinicians and health services can use the indicators to monitor implementation of the quality statements, and support improvements as needed.

The indicator specification is available from METeOR. 

Implementation resources

Launch presentations

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard and accompanying resources were launched on 18 November 2014. Watch video presentations from the launch of the Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard:


1. World Health Organization. The evolving threat of antimicrobial resistance: options for action. Geneva: WHO, 2012.

2. Duguid M, Cruickshank M, editors. Antimicrobial stewardship in Australian hospitals. Sydney: Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care; 2010.