Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard

More than 900,000 colonoscopies are performed in Australia annually. The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard describes the safe, appropriate and high-quality use of colonoscopy. 

What to expect when you’re having a colonoscopy

A colonoscopy is a procedure to look inside your bowel. Find out what you need to know when you’ve been referred for a colonoscopy and understand what to expect before, during and after a colonoscopy on our What you need to know page, for consumers.

The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard

The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard includes nine quality statements and a set of indicators for safe and appropriate care. 

  • For consumers, the standard describes what to expect when you’re referred for a colonoscopy 

  • For clinicians, the standard outlines the evidence-based recommendations for high quality care

    • Find out what the standard says about clinical practice, quality, documentation and recertification, and download referral templates and other resources at Information for Clinicians

  • For Health Service Organisations implementing the standard

    • Find out how to meet the requirements of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards.  Review assessment requirements, factsheets, tools and other implementation resources for health service organisations at Information for Health Service Organisations

The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard - Quality statements

You can download the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard in full from the following link:

Publication, report or update

Pilot Project

The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard is being implemented in public and private hospitals and day procedure centres nationally as part of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards (2nd edition). The Commission has engaged with primary care, the private healthcare sector and jurisdictions to undertake piloting of the Standard across the sectors


The development of the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard was recommended as part of the Safety and Quality Model for Colonoscopy and was funded by the Australian Government Department of Health. It has been endorsed by ten key professional organisations and colleges including the Royal Australian College of Physicians (RACP), the Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA), the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) and the Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSSANZ).

More information

If you have any questions about the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard please email