Atlas 2018 - Expert advisors

List of expert advisory groups for the Third Australian Atlas of Healthcare Variation, published in 2018.

Third Australian Atlas of Healthcare Variation - expert advisory groups

Jurisdictional Advisory Group

  • Dr Tina (Christina) Bertilone
    Senior Medical Advisor, Patient Safety and Clinical Quality Directorate, Western Australian Department of Health
  • Chair: Professor Katina D’Onise
    Director, Prevention and Population Health Branch, South Australian Department for Health and Wellbeing
  • Dr Shannon Melody
    Medical Advisor, Clinical Quality, Health Professional Policy and Advisory Services Group, Tasmanian Department of Health
  • Ms Di O’Kane
    Director, Programs, Survey and Audit, Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Service, Queensland Department of Health
  • Mr Jonathan Prescott
    Assistant Director, Metropolitan Health Service Performance, Victorian Department of Health and Human Services
  • Associate Professor Girish Talaulikar
    Acting Executive Director, Division of Medicine, ACT Health
  • Adjunct Professor Debra Thoms
    Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Australian Government Department of Health
  • Dr Diane Watson
    Chief Executive, Bureau of Health Information, New South Wales
  • Dr Sara Watson
    Director, Clinical Quality and Patient Safety, Northern Territory Department of Health
  • Dr Adrian Webster
    Senior Executive, Hospitals and Expenditure Group, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Primary Care Expert Advisory Group

  • Dr Jason Agostino
    General practitioner, Gurriny Yealamucka Health Service; lecturer in General Practice, Academic Unit of General Practice, Australian National University Medical School
  • Adjunct Professor Steve Hambleton
    Specialist general practitioner; past president, Australian Medical Association
  • Dr Tony Hobbs
    Past Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Australian Government Department of Health
  • Dr Liz Marles
    General practitioner; past president, Royal Australian College of General Practitioners; Director, Hornsby‑Brooklyn GP Unit, Hornsby Hospital Dr
  • Damien Zilm
    General practitioner; Chair, Western Australian General Practice Education and Training; Director, WA Primary Health Alliance (including Chair, Country Primary Health Network Council)

Cardiovascular Topic Expert Group

  • Professor Derek P Chew
    Professor of Cardiology, Flinders University; Network Director of Cardiology, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network
  • Professor Thomas Marwick
    Director and Chief Executive, Baker Heart and Diabetes Institute; Cardiologist, Alfred Health and Western Health
  • Associate Professor David Prior
    Deputy Director of Cardiology, St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne; Associate Professor, University of Melbourne

Antimicrobials in Children Topic Expert Group

  • Associate Professor Penelope Bryant
    Chair, Australia and New Zealand Paediatric Infectious Diseases group and Antimicrobial Stewardship group; Paediatric Infectious Diseases Physician and General Paediatrician, Royal Children’s Hospital
  • Dr Sarah Dalton
    Paediatric Emergency Physician, Children’s Hospital at Westmead; past president, Paediatric and Child Health Division, Royal Australasian College of Physicians
  • Professor Cheryl Jones
    Stevenson Professor of Paediatrics and Head of Department, University of Melbourne; President, Australian Society for Infectious Diseases
  • Professor John Turnidge AM
    Senior Medical Advisor, Antimicrobial Use and Resistance in Australia project and Healthcare Associated Infection Surveillance System, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

Thyroid Topic Expert Group

  • Dr Fraser Brown
    Nuclear Medicine Radiologist, Regional Imaging Ltd; representative, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists
  • Associate Professor Roderick Clifton-Bligh
    Endocrinologist and Head of Department, Royal North Shore Hospital; Conjoint Associate Professor in Medicine, University of Sydney
  • Professor Jonathan Serpell
    Head of Breast, Endocrine and General Surgery, The Alfred; Professor and Director, General Surgery, The Alfred
  • Associate Professor Ken Sikaris
    Chemical Pathologist, Melbourne Pathology; Associate Professor in Pathology, Melbourne University
  • Associate Professor Peter Stewart
    Pathologist, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital; past president, Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia
  • Professor Duncan Topliss
    Director, Department of Endocrinology and Diabetes, The Alfred; Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Monash University

Gastrointestinal Topic Expert Group

  • Mr Brian Kirkby
    Director of Surgery, Surgical Department, Caboolture Hospital
  • Dr Timothy Lyon
    Rural Generalist Surgery and Endoscopy, Kingaroy Hospital, Queensland
  • Dr Suzanne Mahady 
    Gastroenterologist, Royal Melbourne Hospital and St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne; Epidemiologist, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University
  • Associate Professor William Tam
    Chair, Faculty of Endoscopy, Gastroenterological Society of Australia; Associate Professor, School of Medicine, University of Adelaide

Neonatal Topic Expert Groups

  • Associate Professor Koert de Waal
    Conjoint Associate Professor, School of Medicine and Public Health, Faculty of Health and Medicine, University of Newcastle
  • Professor John Lynch
    Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, School of Public Health, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Jonathan Morris AM
    Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Sydney; Director, Clinical and Population Perinatal Health Research, Kolling Institute of Medical Research
  • Professor Michael Permezel
    Past president, Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists; Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Antonia Shand
    Head of Maternal-Fetal Medicine, Royal Hospital for Women; Research Fellow, Perinatal and Population Health, Children’s Hospital at Westmead Clinical School, University of Sydney

Other experts

  • Dr Chris Hayes
    Director, Hunter Integrated Pain Service, John Hunter Hospital; immediate past dean, Faculty of Pain Medicine, Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
  • Professor Harriet Hiscock
    Group Leader, Health Services, Centre for Community Child Health, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute; Director, Health Services Research Unit, Royal Children’s Hospital
  • Associate Professor Malcolm Hogg
    Head of Pain Services, Royal Melbourne Hospital; Clinical Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Louisa Jorm
    Director, Centre for Big Data Research in Health, UNSW Medicine, University of New South Wales
  • Dr Roderick McKay
    Director, Psychiatry and Mental Health Programs, Health Education and Training Institute; Conjoint Senior Lecturer, University of New South Wales
  • Professor Libby Roughead
    Quality Use of Medicines and Pharmacy Research Centre, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences, University of South Australia
  • Dr Jennifer Stevens
    Anaesthetist and Pain Specialist, St Vincent’s Hospital and St Vincent’s Private Hospital, Sydney; Conjoint Senior Lecturer, University of New South Wales