For clinicians - the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard

Information for clinicians about the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard.

What do clinicians need to know? 

The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard includes nine quality statements and four indicators.

Read the quality statements, or download the clinician fact sheet (1 page) or the full Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard (33 pages).

Publication, report or update

Credentialing, certification and re-certification of colonoscopists

Certification (of training) and recertification (of ongoing competency) in adult colonoscopy are now mandatory for all practitioners working in health service organisations being assessed to the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (second edition). Download the following fact sheet for information for clinicians on certification and re-certification. 

Informed consent in colonoscopy

Quality statement 3 in the clinical care standard states that a patient should receive adequate information and provide informed consent before starting bowel preparation. Find out what informed consent means for colonoscopists. 

Templates for referral, reporting and follow-up letters

Templates have been developed to assist clinicians to draft referral, reporting and follow-up letters.

Template, survey or form

Template, survey or form

What indicators will be used for quality improvement?

A set of indicators has been developed to assist with local implementation of the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard.  These indicators align with the performance indicators for certification and recertification developed by the Conjoint Committee for the Recognition of Training in Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (CCRTGE) and the Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA), and can be used for quality assurance.

Find out more on the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standards Indicators page.

How was the clinical care standard developed?

The Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard was developed in collaboration with a multidisciplinary expert Topic Working Group including clinicians and consumers. It has been endorsed by ten key professional organisations and colleges including the Royal Australian College of Physicians (RACP), Gastroenterological Society of Australia (GESA), the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS) and the Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSSANZ).

Other resources


Resources for consumers

Consumer Video – what you need to know before you have a colonoscopy

Interview with Conjoint Professor Anne Duggan, gastroenterologist

Resource for Assessors

Assessor Video - what you need to know about the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard

More information

If you have any questions about the Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard please email