Diagnostic Imaging

The Commission is reviewing the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme Standards to minimise the risk of harm and improve the care of patients.

We are also preparing a diagnostic imaging accreditation model feasibility report.


The Health Insurance Act 1973 and the Health Insurance (Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation) Instrument 2020 provides the legislative framework for the introduction and operation of the Diagnostic Imaging Accreditation Scheme for diagnostic imaging practices providing diagnostic imaging services under Medicare.

Diagnostic imaging includes the following modalities:

  • Ultrasound
  • Computed tomography
  • Diagnostic radiology
    • X-ray
    • mammography
    • angiography
    • fluoroscopy
    • orthopantomography
  • Nuclear medicine
  • Magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

Consultation now open

The Commission is seeking feedback on:

  • Safety and quality issues faced by patients accessing diagnostic imaging services
  • Areas of variation in diagnostic imaging services
  • Safety and quality data to monitor diagnostic imaging
  • A model of accreditation

Consultation is open until Sunday, 24 July 2022. You can provide feedback in three ways:


Individuals and organisations can send a written submission to diagnosticimaging@safetyandquality.gov.au. The submissions can address none, some or all of the following questions about diagnostic imaging:

  • What are the safety and quality issues faced by patients?
  • What would safe and high-quality care look like for patients?
  • What strategies/activities would improve the quality of care patients receive?
  • What unwarranted variation is seen in diagnostic imaging?
  • What improvements will address unwarranted variation?
  • What data should be collected routinely to monitor patient safety and care?
  • The current accreditation model involves a desktop audit every four years. How can this accreditation model be enhanced to assess compliance with the standards?

Consultation forums

The Commission is running six online forums that run for approximately 1.5 hours. You can join via videoconference or telephone.

To attend, please select a session that suits you and register your attendance.

  • 11 July 2022 – 1:00pm AEST
  • 14 July 2022 – 1:00pm AEST
  • 19 July 2022 – 1:00pm AEST

Survey responses and submissions

Survey responses and submissions received may be published. For submissions, this can include the names of individuals and organisations. Other personal information will be de-identified, such as email addresses and phone numbers. If you would like your submission to remain confidential, please advise the Commission.

Further information

If you have any questions relating to this consultation process, please contact the Commission’s Safety and Quality Advice Centre via AdviceCentre@safetyandquality.gov.au. If you would like to speak to someone, please provide a contact telephone number.