Indicators for the Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard

Indicators have been developed to support monitoring of the care recommended in the Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard. Clinicians and health service organisations can use the indicators to support local quality improvement activities.

Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard Indicators

The Commission has developed a set of indicators to support clinicians and health services in monitoring how well they implement the care described in this clinical care standard.

The indicators are a tool to support local quality improvement activities. No benchmarks are set for any indicator.

Indicators to support local monitoring - 2020

The 2020 Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard was released on 24 November 2020. The clinical care standard describes the updated indicator set including new, changed revised and retired indicators. 

Detailed specifications for the 2020 Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard will be available on METeOR by the end of December 2020. METeOR is an Australian web-based repository of nationally endorsed data and indicator definitions, hosted by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW).

List of indicators

Transition to using the 2020 indicators

From 1 January 2022, all of the 2014 Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard indicators will be retired. Until then, clinicians and health service organisations can use either the 2020 or the 2014 indicator set for the purposes of assessment to the NSQHS standards for accreditation.

2014 indicators

Full specifications for the 2014 Antimicrobial Stewardship Clinical Care Standard indicators can be found in the Metadata Online Registry (METeOR). 

Measuring and monitoring patient experience

Systematic, routine monitoring of patients’ experiences of, and outcomes from, health care is an important way to ensure that the patient’s perspective drives service improvements and patient-centred care. This is the case in all health services, including those that prescribe, dispense or administer antimicrobials.

Patient experience measures

While there are no indicators in this standard specific to patient experience measurement, the Commission strongly encourages health service organisations to adopt the Australian Hospital Patient Experience Question Set (AHPEQS). The AHPEQS is a short 12 question generic patient experience survey which has been tested and found reliable and valid for both day-only and admitted hospital patients across a wide variety of clinical settings.

The AHPEQS question set is available for both private and public sector health services, and has been translated into 20 languages. It can be downloaded from this website. 

Patient-reported outcome measures

In Australia, patient-reported outcome measures (PROMs) are an emerging method of assessing the quality of health care. The Commission is leading a national work program to support the consistent and routine use of PROMs to drive quality improvement.