NSQHS Standards orientation course

This course aims to provide an overview of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards for assessors and health service organisations' workforce. It is self-paced and includes learning material such as case studies, videos and tips for implementing the NSQHS Standards.

About the course

The NSQHS Standards Orientation Course is freely available for anyone who would like to learn about the NSQHS Standards. Completion of the course is mandatory for assessors prior to them commencing assessment of health service organisations to the NSQHS Standards.

The online course is self-paced and includes learning materials such as case studies, videos and tips for implementing the NSQHS Standards. Eleven modules cover:

  • An introduction to the NSQHS Standards
  • The assessment of safety and quality systems
  • The Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme
  • Each of the eight standards.


Please follow this link to access the enrolment form. Use this form to enrol or re-enrol/transfer courses. Enrolment to Course 4 (2019C) is now open.

Enrolment dates

Course number

Enrolments close Course finishes

4 (2019C)

13 November 2020 31 December 2020*

*Further extensions may be granted and will be determined closer to the course finish date.

Course requirements

There are three options for enrolment:

  • Assessor course - this is for assessors from accrediting agencies that undertake reviews of health service organisations as part of the process of accreditation
  • Certificate course  - this is for non-assessors who would like a certificate of completion, for example, for professional development. Certificates are available for each module or for the course as a whole
  • Non-certificate course - this is for non-assessors who do not need a certificate of completion, but would like to learn more about the NSQHS Standards.

To obtain a certificate of completion, users must finish the course by the date the course they are enrolled in finishes. Assessors must provide a copy of their certificate of completion to their accrediting agency before they are eligible to assess a health service organisation using the NSQHS Standards.

The following table summarises the course requirements for each stream

  Assessor Other-Requiring completion certificate Other- Not requiring completion certificate

Must complete all 8 modules

Yes No No

Must submit answers to all questions to progress through each module

Yes Yes No

Must contribute to Discussion Boards

Yes No No

Will have responses to short answer questions reviewed by the Commission

Yes No No

Will be provided with a certificate of completion at the conclusion of the course

Yes - if satisfactorily completed Yes No

Will be provided with individual module certificates

No Yes No

Must complete additional modules in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural competency

Yes No-these modules are only available for assessors No- these modules are only available for assessors

Course access

Please follow this link to access the NSQHS Standards orientation course. It is recommended that users have access to the latest version of Internet Explorer, Firefox or Google Chrome web browsers and that pop-ups are enabled.

Course trouble shooting and enquiries

Please complete the online enquiry form in you are having any course related difficulties. 


The NSQHS Standards Orientation Course was developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care to assist assessors and representatives from Australian health service organisations better understand the intent of the NSQHS Standards and the processes of accreditation that are described in the Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation Scheme.

These standards and accreditation requirements do not apply in any other country. The NSQHS Standards were written specifically for the Australian health care context and may not be used in any other country without the written permission of the Commission.