NSQHS Standards orientation course

This course aims to provide an overview of the National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards for assessors and health service organisations' workforce. It is self-paced and includes learning material such as case studies, videos and tips for implementing the NSQHS Standards.

Course announcements and updates

Update of the NSQHS Standards Assessor Orientation Course

The NSQHS Standards Assessor Orientation Course is currently being updated, with the aim of:

  • Aligning the content to the current stage of implementation of the NSQHS Standards and updates to the AHSSQA Scheme
  • Improving the information and communications technology used to deliver the course.

In the interim, the current NSQHS Standards Orientation Course (2019C) will be extended until the updated course is available to allow users to continue to access the course.

A further update on the release of the updated course and finish date of the 2019C course will be made early in the new year.

For any questions or concerns, please contact accreditation@safetyandquality.gov.au.

Assessor orientation to the MPS Aged Care Module and User Guide for Multi-Purpose Services

This course aims to provide assessors with an introduction to the intent and applicability of the Multi-Purpose Services (MPS) Aged Care Module and User Guide (MPS Aged Care Module). Completion of this educational update is required for all assessors participating in assessment of MPS to the NSQHS Standards and MPS Aged Care Module. The course:

  • Has been added to all user profiles that are enrolled in any of the assessor orientation courses (both closed and active)
  • Takes 60-90 minutes to complete for those familiar with the background reading material
  • Contains multiple choice questions which must be answered correctly. There is no limit on the number of attempts.

The MPS Aged Care Module Assessor Training should be completed within 6 months. A certificate of completion can be download upon completion.

About the course

The NSQHS Standards Orientation Course is freely available for anyone who would like to learn about the NSQHS Standards. Completion of the course is mandatory for assessors prior to them commencing assessment of health service organisations to the NSQHS Standards.

The online course is self-paced and includes learning materials such as case studies, videos and tips for implementing the NSQHS Standards. Nine modules cover:

  • An introduction to the NSQHS Standards
  • The assessment of safety and quality systems
  • The Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation (AHSSQA) Scheme
  • Each of the eight standards.

All assessors must also complete the short Colonoscopy Clinical Care Standard course. You will be automatically enrolled in this course when you enrol in the NSQHS Standards course as an assessor.

All assessors need to complete the Core Cultural Learning - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australia Foundation Course (known as Core Foundation Course). This is approximately 10 hours of learning.

The Core Foundation Course is administered by the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AITSIS).

Once you have completed the NSQHS Standards orientation course and been issued your certificate, you will be enrolled in the Core Foundation Course.

The online course does not provide a qualification to become an assessor. Recruitment of assessors is undertaken by approved accrediting agencies, and assessors must have a detailed understanding of the relevant standards and submit evidence of satisfactory completion of the Commission’s online orientation program prior to undertaking assessments. You can find the list of approved accrediting agencies on this page: Approved accrediting agencies contact details.


Please follow this link to access the enrolment form. Use this form to enrol or re-enrol/transfer courses. Enrolment to Course 4 (2019C) is now open.

Course requirements

There are three options for enrolment:

  • Assessor course - this is for assessors from accrediting agencies that undertake reviews of health service organisations as part of the process of accreditation
  • Certificate course  - this is for non-assessors who would like a certificate of completion, for example, for professional development. Certificates are available for each module or for the course as a whole
  • Non-certificate course - this is for non-assessors who do not need a certificate of completion, but would like to learn more about the NSQHS Standards.

To obtain a certificate of completion, users must finish the course by the date the course they are enrolled in finishes. Assessors must provide a copy of their certificate of completion to their accrediting agency before they are eligible to assess a health service organisation using the NSQHS Standards.

The following table summarises the course requirements for each stream

  Assessor Other-Requiring completion certificate Other- Not requiring completion certificate

Must complete all 8 modules

Yes No No

Must submit answers to all questions to progress through each module

Yes Yes No

Must contribute to Discussion Boards

Yes No No

Will have responses to short answer questions reviewed by the Commission

Yes No No

Will be provided with a certificate of completion at the conclusion of the course

Yes - if satisfactorily completed Yes No

Will be provided with individual module certificates

No Yes No

Must complete additional modules in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural competency

Yes No-these modules are only available for assessors No- these modules are only available for assessors

Course access

Please follow this link to access the NSQHS Standards orientation course. It is recommended that users have access to the latest version of Internet Explorer, Firefox or Google Chrome web browsers and that pop-ups are enabled.

Course trouble shooting and enquiries

Please complete the online enquiry form in you are having any course related difficulties. 


The NSQHS Standards Orientation Course was developed by the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care to assist assessors and representatives from Australian health service organisations better understand the intent of the NSQHS Standards and the processes of accreditation that are described in the Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation Scheme.

These standards and accreditation requirements do not apply in any other country. The NSQHS Standards were written specifically for the Australian health care context and may not be used in any other country without the written permission of the Commission.