Safety and Quality > Our Work > Assessment to the NSQHS Standards

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Commission with the Australian Government, state and territory partners, consumers and the private sector. The primary aim of the NSQHS Standards is to protect the public from harm and improve the quality of health care. They describe the level of care that should be provided by health service organisations and the systems that are needed to deliver such care.


Second edition of the NSQHS Standards

NSQHS Standards (second edition) coverThe second edition of the NSQHS Standards was released in November 2017. Health service organisations will be assessed to the second edition from January 2019.

Download the second edition and supporting resources.

Further information

National Standards Program Updates and Consultations

The latest updates and information about the National Standards Program

NSQHS Standards (second edition)

The second edition addresses gaps identified in the first edition, including mental health and cognitive impairment, health literacy, end-of-life care and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Information for health service organisations undergoing assessment to the NSQHS Standards

Find out which organisations need to be accredited and the steps for implementing the NSQHS Standards

Information for dental practices undergoing assessment to the NSQHS Standards

Find out how dental practices can use the NSQHS Standards to improve safety and quality of care

Information for accrediting agencies

Find out how the approval process for accrediting agencies works

Resources to implement the NSQHS Standards (first edition)

Resources, tools and documents to assist health service organisations using the NSQHS Standards (first edition)

NSQHS Standards Advisories (first edition)

Formal communication from the Commission to accrediting agencies to provide guidance and direction on the interpretation and/or assessment of the NSQHS Standards (first edition).

Australian Health Service Safety and Quality Accreditation Scheme

Information about the scheme that provides for the national coordination of accreditation processes

Improving care for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people

Information about the projects the Commission is undertaking to improve the care provided to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in health service organisations, using the framework of the NSQHS Standards

Back to top


Last updated: 29 June 2018